Fields of research and the main results

Fields of research and the main results on them for the last 3 years:

  1. Study of the physical properties and electro-optics for smectics C * (ferroelectric liquid crystals - FLC).

    Through these studies a quadratic electro-optic effect in helical FLC nanostructures (in 2011 recognized as the LPI achievement) has been experimentally discovered and theoretically proved.

  2. Research on creation of optoelectronic imaging devices, information processing and display on the basis of FLC.

    A display cell with the FLC has been implemented, where the response time of 30 - 50 ms has been received, allowing the creation of displays with a playback frame rate up to a few kilohertz (in 2010 recognized as the LPI achievement). In 2012 hysteresis-free light modulation frequency with a continuous gray scale of 7 kHz at the control voltage of ± 1,5 kHz has been attained in the FLC cell.  
  3. Study of data protection on the basis of discrete multiple-valued logic unit (MVL).

    The original methods for highly secure authentication and secret coding, which allow, by means of the discrete MVL unit, building a space of random one-time keys with the dimension of more than 10,500 and transferring protected commands in a distributed structure of interacting objects by the open communication channels, have been developed.
  4. Study of methods of switching N × N optical channels.

    We propose a parallel approach based on radix switching channels and two variants of its implementation in optical waveguides: using the built-in cells of the total internal reflection and a photorefractive effect in the material of waveguide itself; both options are simulated by the example of switching 8 × 8 channels.

Направления исследований и основные результаты

Направления исследований и основные результаты по ним, полученные за последние 3 года:

  1. Исследование физических свойств и электрооптики смектиков С* (сегнетоэлектрических жидких кристаллов – СЖК).

    В рамках этих исследований открыт экспериментально и обоснован теоретически квадратичный электрооптический эффект в спиральных наноструктурах СЖК (признано в 2011 г. достижением ФИАН).

  2. Исследования по созданию оптоэлектронных устройств визуализации, обработки и отображения информации на основе СЖК.

    Реализована дисплейная ячейка с СЖК, в которой получено время отклика 30 - 50 мкс, что открывает возможность создания дисплеев с частотой воспроизведения кадров до нескольких килогерц (признано в 2010 г. достижением ФИАН). В 2012 г.  в СЖК-ячейке достигнута частота безгистерезисной модуляции света с непрерывной шкалой серого в 7 кГц при управляющем напряжении всего ± 1,5 кГц.

  3. Исследование защиты данных на основе аппарата дискретной многозначной логики (МЗЛ).

    Разработаны оригинальные методы высокозащищенного секретного кодирования и аутентификации, позволяющие с помощью аппарата дискретной МЗЛ строить пространство случайных одноразовых ключей с размерностью более 10500 и передавать по открытым каналам связи защищенные команды в распределенной структуре взаимодействующих объектов.

  4. Исследование методов оптоэлектронной коммутации N×N оптических каналов.

    Предложен параллельной метод, основанный на поразрядной коммутации каналов, и два варианта его реализации в оптических волноводах: с использованием встроенных ячеек полного внутреннего отражения и фоторефрактивного эффекта в материале самого волновода; оба варианта промоделированы на примере коммутации 8×8 каналов.