About laboratory

Laboratory of Plasma Diagnostics
The Laboratory was formed in 1990 (transformed from the Plasma Diagnostics Sector established in 1982).

Main lines of research:

  • development of optical, X-ray and corpuscular methods of plasma diagnostics;  implementation of the methods in laser and electric-discharge plasma experiments;  
  • experimental research into the physical processes occurring in laser plasma under the action of high-power laser radiation;
  • experimental research into the processes in electric-discharge plasma of high-power       z-pinch facilities, including in plasma of a discharge initiated by laser pulsed action;
  • theoretical research into the nonlinear interaction of laser radiation with plasma, into plasma turbulence, transfer processes in hot plasma, nonlinear vortex dynamics of plasma, the physics of ultrashort laser pulses and particle acceleration.

Major results:

  • experimental research into the mechanisms of the interaction of high-power laser radiation with dense plasma, the nonlinear mechanisms including;
  • studies of the generation of laser-radiation frequency harmonics in plasma; development of plasma diagnostics methods on their basis;
  • pioneering experiments on laser heating and compression of spherical shell targets in ablative compression mode, research into the physical processes occurring in plasma and the proved possibility of stable compression of targets in this mode;
  • development of diagnostics methods for plasma processes by measuring the characteristics of charged and neutral particles emitted by laser plasma;  
  • development of the method of Raman scattering of probing laser radiation for  diagnostics of plasma waves excited by a heating laser;
  • amplification and application of the method of Faraday rotation of the probing laser radiation polarization plane for diagnostics of magnetic fields in laser and electric-discharge plasmas;
  • synchrotron radiation-based R&D of new X-ray optical elements – transmitting gratings, reflectors and polarizers; their application in plasma experiments; research into the conversion of laser radiation into X-ray radiation for various experimental conditions;  
  • experimental research into dynamical processes in laser plasma during laser radiation of low-density porous targets;
  • research into the dynamics of plasma of low- and medium-power fast laser-induced vacuum discharges and development of a pulsed quasi-zero-dimensional source of characteristic X-ray radiation based on the tube diode with the laser-plasma cathode
  • construction of the  theory of ion-sound turbulence, development of a model of vortex electron anisotropic hydrodynamics, finding of a number of mechanisms of spontaneous magnetic-field generation in laser plasma, creation of the complete non-local linear theory of electron transfer in hot plasma and development of non-linear transfer theory elements, development of new methods of laser particle acceleration.

The Laboratory has conducted experimental research at high-power laser and electric-discharge facilities both in this country:

  • Kalmar and Delfin multibeam lasers for spherical target irradiation (Lebedev Physical Institute);
  • Kamerton and Feniks single-beam lasers (General Physics Institute);  
  • S-60 synchrotron (Lebedev Physical Institute);
  • GIT-4 high-power z-pinch facilities (Institute of High-Current Electronics, Tomsk)
  • ANGARA-5 (Troitsk Institute for Innovation and Fusion Research (TRINITI)) and others

and abroad:

  • Institute of Plasma Physics and Laser Microsynthesis, Warsaw, Poland;
  • Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany;
  • Institute of Plasma Physics and Institute of Physics, Prague, Czech Republic;
  • Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK;
  • Frascati Research Centre, Italy;
  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA;
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA;  
  • Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore, India.

The Laboratory has actively participated in projects by the RFBR, ISTC, INTAS; projects by the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation.